Windy..Wordy…we…

Of late…Since the GRE season has started, It is difficult to decipher even the usual conversations we have during the classes. I was the last to catch up with  this whole verbosity thing since I had bunked the first two weeks of college. First class of this semester, when I entered the class ..I had to face a series of interrogations like…”Dude, You look so lugubrious!!Wat happened? How was the peregrination???”. That was followed by a series of complicated words , of which I totally did not have any clue about. I thought..”Oh my God,Talking to friends has never been this much difficult.”I nodded my head blankly trying to pose like I understood .

This was not getting any better.From then on all my replies and responses in any talk would be monosyllabic or in the worst case.. “Oh yea!!.. “. I had my own ready to use, exclusively tailored set of neutral phrases like 1)”Yea …Totally” 2)”Oh..I never knew….” etc etc.All was well until one day , during a casual conversation..I was told..” Why were you so impudent and pachydermatous yesterday ???”. None of my neutral response would fit!!  I wished my brain had a “Wordweb” software. I gave a brief nod. “Does that  mean that you are Pachydermatous??” Er…No!!! ..”Then why did u nod??” ..(Mind voice:”Awww.. For God’s sake tell me what is pachydermatous !!!”.)That word stuck into my head ,I hastily googled it only to find out that it’s a verbose version of unemotional. (Enna koduma sir idhu!!)

Classrooms started looking like  classrooms actually. Novels were replaced by wordlists. No more news papers. All I could see was Aptitude books. I was totally bored. Cue cards became my new friends. (Nerdy friends btw). Learning words actually appeared to be fun.But guess what’s funnier??? Using weird adjectives on friends !!. We felt like we are talking an encrypted version of English.

Apart from being wordy,we are actually being more expressive. And I am fascinated by the fact that how English has an exclusive word for every little thing we want to express.We are not beating about the bush anymore while our mind is searching for the appropriate word., And the best part is that our talks have become more adultish.. :P. Waiting to relish more exotic journeys with my new word friends.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ajay Krishnan
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 07:34:01

    Its funny! Worth spending time in reading this . . .Sense of humour is fabulous 🙂 Keep up the good work… Awaiting for more funny posts…

    Reply

  2. Bhuvaneshwari gopal
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 16:48:09

    Good one Nitty ! Hilarious 😉
    Keep writing Ms.Wordy ! 🙂

    Reply

  3. nittywrites
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 16:52:55

    Thankoo boo!!!

    Reply

  4. Vignesh
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 16:21:36

    Fantabulous. Excellent. First-class. Splendid. Top-drawer.

    Reply

  5. Sridar
    Sep 05, 2010 @ 14:54:48

    Your Excellance in English is beautiful.

    Ram
    (aaranyanivas)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

